top of page

Echo Kat's start

I was having an ok pregnancy except for getting kidney infections several times. I spent a lot of time on antibiotics and on pain medicine for the infections. December 2001, after spending a weekend at the soon to be grandparents' house, I went back home. December 31, 2001 devastation. I got a phone call from my mother telling her that my father had passed away at 53 years old from a heart attack. So back to other side of the state I went. My brother was on the Atlantic side of the states in the Navy and my sister was in California.

The arrangements to get the family there had finally been made. Then I started feeling crappy and in severe pain so to the hospital I went on January 2cd. Another kidney infection. But also something new, Preterm labor. Luckily, the hospital was able to stop the labor with several shots. My father's birthday was February 10th. During my whole pregnancy he kept telling me I wasn't supposed to have her on his birthday but she should have her own special day. We buried my father at the national cemetery in Washington state. Then I went home, while my brother and sister helped my mom pack things and go through things. My mom would be moving in with me until she got her footing.

It was an adjustment all around. Then more adjusting. February 9th, 2002, I started labor. After 24 hours My daughter Echo Kat was born. They weighed her and I told them to do it again because their scale must be wrong. She was 10 lbs 1 oz and 22 inches long. She was a big girl and screaming her lungs off. My mom got to be there for it, and even though my dad wasn't physically there, I did feel his presence there. Today, Echo Kat is growing into a beautiful, joyful young lady.

She loves to sing and put on short plays for all the animals. She has an affinity for working with animals. They seem to just trust her and calm down instantly with her. She has an idea of a career of working with animals, but she hasn't quite made up her mind yet. That's ok. She is only in 8th grade, she has lots of time. Most of all, I want her to enjoy her time being a kid/teenager.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page